Jeanne and Trev
2005 Trip to the UK - Doncaster Area Pictures
Home
About Us
Latest News
How to get Here
Havre de Grace
Our Own Pictures
Jeanne's Family
Trev's Family
Our Friends
Pictures From Iraq
Helen's Homecoming from Iraq
2005 Trip to the UK - Introduction
2005 Trip to the UK - Family Pictures
2005 Trip to the UK - Doncaster Area Pictures
2005 Trip to the UK - Mount Pleasant Hotel Pictures
2005 Trip to the UK - Scrooby and Bawtry Pictures
2005 Trip to the UK - London Area Pictures
2005 Trip to the UK - Parliament Square Pictures
2005 Trip to the UK - Buckingham Palace Pictures
2005 Trip to the UK - Tower of London Pictures
Our Websites
Our Favorite Links
Hotels and Motels
Contact Us

DONCASTER

 

Doncaster began when the Romans built a fort in the area about 71 AD. The Romans called the fort Danum. However in the 4th century Roman civilisation declined and the last Roman soldiers left Britain in 407 AD. After the Romans left the Saxons invaded Eastern England. The Saxons called a Roman fort a caester. When they arrived in South Yorkshire they called this one Don caester. In time the name changed to Doncaster and they created a village nearby. In the 12th century Doncaster grew into a busy town. In 1194 King Richard I gave Doncaster a charter (a document granting or confirming certain rights). In the Middle Ages Doncaster was a busy little market town although it would seem tiny to us. By 1831 Doncaster had a population of 10,000. Like all towns in those days it was dirty and unsanitary and many of the inhabitants lived in squalid and overcrowded conditions. However things improved in the late 19th century when sewers were built and a piped water supply was created. An infirmary opened in Doncaster in 1853. The first free public library in Doncaster opened in 1869. A new Guildhall was built in 1847 and a Corn Exchange, where grain was bought and sold was built in 1873. The railway reached Doncaster in 1849. Railways meant the end of the stagecoaches but they brought new prosperity to the town. The first public library in Doncaster opened in 1869. St Georges Church was rebuilt in 1858. It was designed by the architect Sir George Gilbert Scott (1811-1878). In 1827 the Corporation decided to light the streets of Doncaster with gas. Doncaster gained electric light in 1899. Today the population of Doncaster Metropolitan Borough is 286,000. Shopping in the Town Centre is now much safer with the introduction of the most sophisticated CCTV system in the UK. Cameras and on-street help points are located in various spots and Car Parks throughout the Town Centre, working to make everyone safer in Doncaster.

Doncaster School and College for the Deaf (Pictured below)

Doncaster School for the Deaf is an independent Special School for resident and day pupils. Doncaster College for the Deaf is on the same campus. Both attract students from all over the UK, not just the Doncaster area. They have excellent facilities to educate and train deaf and hearing-impaired young people and adults. They are committed to providing them with the skills they need to become self-reliant in leading purposeful and fulfilling lives. This means ensuring deaf and hearing-impaired people have the opportunity to gain qualifications that enable them to secure employment.

schoolforthedeaf02.jpg
Main Entrance to Doncaster School (and College) for the Deaf

schoolforthedeaf01.jpg
The welcome sign on St. Leger Way, the campus is opposite Doncaster Racecourse

schoolforthedeaf03.jpg
Reception and Administration entrance

ROTHWELL’S

The busy shop, which serves 300 sit-down meals a day and too many takeaways to count, is a far cry from the days when Liz's grandparents launched the business in 1952. In those days, Chris and Phyllis Rothwell used to peel the spuds in the garage at their home in Scawsby to be fried at the corner shop they had taken over. Fish and chips is the UK's number one takeaway with over 261 million meals sold every year. Trev’s daughter Nikki went to school with one of the Rothwell family.

rothwells01.jpg
Rothwell's "Chippy" - picture from Doncaster Free Press, click the picture to visit their website

TICKHILL (Pictured below)

In pre-Norman times there was a Saxon settlement named Dadesley with a church at All Hallows Hill just to the north. The castle appears to have been founded soon after the Norman conquest but the name Tickhill is first recorded in a monastic register at Nostell Priory, 1109-1119. Tickhill is a large village (some call it a town!) lying some 8 miles south of Doncaster. Historically its presence goes back as far as 1066 when William I gave lands to Roger de Busli who administered them as the Honour of Tickhill. Today Tickhill is a lively village with residents commuting to Doncaster, Sheffield and beyond. It boasts a castle, a duckpond, a fine church, dating from the 15th century, and a great number of public houses.

tickhill01.jpg
The Buttercross, Tickhill

tickhill02.jpg
One of the many quaint passageways in Tickhill, this is "The Twitchell"

stmarys.jpg
St. Mary's Church, the Parish Church of Tickhill

Parish Church of St George (Doncaster Minster)

Described by Sir John Betjeman as "Victorian Gothic at its very best", St George's was designed by distinguished architect Sir George Gilbert Scott. Scott's design replaced a 12th Century Norman Style church that burnt down on the last day of February 1853. The church re-opened in 1858, featuring many fine nineteenth century stained glass windows, a clock with the same designers as 'Big Ben' and an organ 'masterpiece' by Edmund Schulze.

stgeorges.jpg
St. George's Church - Doncaster Minster

MEADOWHALL SHOPPING COMPLEX

This is Europe's top shopping mall which is extremely popular attracting visitors to Sheffield from a wide catchment area where over 270 stores. High street names, designer boutiques and speciality craft stores provide an unrivalled retail experience. You will find many leading department stores, exclusive shops, cafes of English and international cuisines, entertainments including an 11 screen cinema complex, The Oasis where additional entertainments including live music and shows can be found for free. Parking for Meadowhall is free.

meadowhall06.jpg
Escalator to Marks and Spencer store, Meadowhall

meadowhall02.jpg
One of several entrances, the glass dome features throughout the complex

DONCASTER MARKET

A combination of 600 indoor stalls in the former Corn Exchange and the lively open air market, Doncaster Market is one of the biggest and finest markets in the North.  Well worth a full day visit, the traditional market provides the freshest foods including fresh game, fish, fruit, vegetables and gift ideas.During the Middle Ages, Doncaster was the most prosperous town in South Yorkshire. It owed its prosperity to the market until the mid 19th century and the arrival of the railways. The market, may not unreasonably be supposed to have origins in Roman times, and has always been the centre of the town's trade and commerce. The 1505 Charter of Henry VII gave the town the right to hold two weekly markets - one on a Tuesday , and the other on a Saturday, and these markets should be held 'forever'.  The market, together with its associated Charter fairs, was nationally famous, and attracted people from far and wide. Before 1700 and the advent of shops as we know them today, people relied on the market for most of their everyday needs - food, clothing and household goods. Everything from cloth to shoes, or pots to a pig could be purchased.

market02.jpg
The "New" entrance to Doncaster Market from Sunny Bar

market03.jpg
The "Corn Exchange" at Doncaster Market, there is also the old "Wool Market" there

meadowhall04.jpg
Another set of escalators, there are also elevators(lifts), and stairways

meadowhall05.jpg
One of the many walkways, take good walking shoes !!

meadowhall03.jpg
The Oasis at Meadowhall, features a stage and multiple screen TV

market01.jpg
In addition the general goods their is also a specialist meat market and as pictured, a fish market

market04.jpg
A typical stall at Doncaster Market - no haggling on prices any more, but still very cheap !!

Copyright  Jeanne and Trev 1999- 2014.
Website Designed, Maintained, and Created by: Jeanne and Trevor Evans